ISBB 2019


20th International Symposium on
Boron, Borides and Related Materials
(ISBB 2019)

Sun. Sept. 22, 2019 - Fri. Spet. 27, 2019
TOKI MESSE, Niigata, Niigata, Japan

[Home ]@


[Abstract Submission] [Registration ] [Venue and Access] [Scientific Program] [Accommodation ] [Committee ] [Social Program ]

Program and Schedule (Sept. 22, 2019 updated)

 Overall Schedule

Day 1 Sunday, September 22, 2019
15:00@Registration Desk Opens
18:0017:00 @Welcome Reception

Day 2 Monday, September 23, 2019
8:30 Registration Desk Opens
8:45 Opening Ceremony
9:00 Technical Sessions

Day 3 Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Technical Sessions

Day 4 Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Technical Sessions (morning)
Excursion (afternoon)
Symposium Banquet (evening)

Day 5 Tursday, September 26, 2019
Technical Sessions

Scientific Program

The Symposium will integrate both basic and applied interdisciplinary research that is centered on Boron, Borides and Related Materials.

Oral and poster contributions are invited in the following areas:

N     Preparation of New Materials (single crystals, thin films, nanomaterials, ceramics, coatings, glasses, composites, biopolymers etc.) in normal and extreme conditions (super-high pressure, ultracentrifuging, microgravity).

N     Crystal Structure and Chemical Bonding (nonstoichiometry, defects, clusters, quantum-chemical calculations).

N     Physical and Chemical Properties

(band structure, phonon spectra, superconductivity, optical, electrical, magnetic, emissive, mechanical properties, phase diagrams, thermodynamics, catalytic activity etc.) in a wide range of temperature and pressure.

N     Applications and Prospects

(memory elements, thermoelectric converters, composites, ceramics, coatings, biomedicine etc.)

Plenary lectures and Focused Session are planned. English will be the Symposium language.

Invited Speakers (confirmed)

Focused Session
"Low-Dimensional Boron Nanostructures: Borophene, Boron Hydride Sheet, Nanotube, Nanowire"

N. Guisinger (USA),        T. Kondo (Japan),             S. Souma (Japan),        K. Wu (China),

B. Yakobson (USA)

Regular Session

B. Albert (Germany),        B. Fokwa (USA),              J. Grin (Germany),       J-F. Halet (France),

H. Hillebrecht (Germany),        J. Kunstmann (Germany),        I. Mackinnon (Australia),

M. Manghnani (USA),      S. Nakatsuji (Japan),         T. Ogitsu (USA),           P. Rogl (Austria),

N. Sluchanko (Russia),     V. Solozhenko (France),    M. Terauchi (Japan),     N. Vast (France),
H. Werheit (Germany),     O. Yucel (Turkey)